We are starting a review of our adopted Local Plan. We have extended the Issues and Options consultation to run for 10 weeks, from Thursday 11 August 2022 to Thursday 20 October 2022. 

We would like your views on the key issues facing Chelmsford and approaches for planning the city’s future up to 2041. This includes:

  • the amount and potential locations for new development of homes, jobs and infrastructure
  • areas for protection, such as open space and sites for wildlife

Understand the issues

We adopted our current Local Plan in May 2020. It guides growth and development across Chelmsford City Council's area to 2036. We need to review the plan at least every five years, to see if we need to update it. We need to consider new national policy and changing local circumstances, and make sure we meet the needs of our current and future residents. 

This is your opportunity to feed into the review process at an early stage and help to shape the Local Plan and the future of your area.

We have summarised the key topics in our:

You can also read the full consultation documents. These documents feature detailed information and are large in size. You may find it easier to download and view these documents on a desktop computer, rather than on a smartphone or tablet. 

Have your say

You can view the consultation documents and make your comments on our specially designed consultation portal. There you will find:

  • Issues and Options Consultation Document 2022 (just click on this event to read and comment on the questions in the document as you go)
  • Issues and Options Questionnaire 2022 (you can click on this event if you have read the consultation document and just want to answer the questions in one place)
  • Issues and Options Integrated Impact Assessment 2022 (you can click on this event to view the supporting Issues and Options Integrated Impact Assessment (IIA) and comment on this document. Do not use this event to comment on the Issues and Options Consultation Document itself).

We prefer receiving comments through the consultation portal. This ensures we can record your comments accurately and process them quickly. You can also download the consultation documents and sign up for alerts to future consultation events.

Give your views now

Alternatively, you can comment:

  • by emailing planning.policy@chelmsford.gov.uk
  • by writing to Spatial Planning Services, Chelmsford City Council, Civic Centre, Duke Street, Chelmsford, CM1 1JE
  • by hand between 10am to 4pm Monday to Friday, at the Customer Service Centre (outside of these hours you can use the post box outside the Customer Service Centre)

Find out more

You can read our:

You can also download a PDF version of our exhibition.

Meet our planning team

Following the cancellation of drop-in exhibitions on 8 to 10 September, we have arranged exhibitions on:

  • Friday 7 October 2022, 11am to 2pm
  • Saturday 8 October 2022, 10am to 1pm

You will be able to speak to a representative of the council. There is no need to book, just come along to the Council Chamber at our main Civic Centre offices.

The exhibition is also on display at Champions Manor Hall, South Woodham Ferrers until Thursday 20 October. It will be open Monday to Friday from 9am until 4pm, and till 9.30pm on Tuesday 11 and Tuesday 18 October. This exhibition is not staffed.

Webinar

If you can't make the exhibition, you can join our webinar on:

  • Tuesday 11 October 2022, 6pm to 7pm

We will give a presentation, which will be followed by the opportunity to ask questions via the chat function. We will publish a list of the questions raised and our responses following the event. You must register for the webinar.

We will be assessing the Local Plan as we review it, to make sure it contributes towards sustainability.

Using the Integrated Impact Assessment (IIA), we will assess the following aspects of sustainable development:

  • Sustainability Appraisal
  • Strategic Environmental Assessment
  • Habitats Regulations Assessment
  • Health Impact Assessment
  • Equality Impact Assessment

The IIA assesses the issues and options against a range of social, environmental and economic indicators and helps to identify all the likely significant effects. The IIA advises on ways in which any adverse effects could be avoided, reduced or mitigated or how any positive effects could be maximised. This helps to ensure that the emerging policies, plans and allocations in the Local Plan are promoting sustainable development.

You can view and comment on the Integrated Impact Assessment of the Review of the Adopted Local Plan on our consultation portal.

Alternatively you can read:

We are running a call for sites to identify land that could be used for new developments, to inform the Local Plan review.

You can submit a site, or amend a site that you have already submitted, until the Local Plan Issues and Opens consultation closes in October 2022.

Following the call for sites we will publish a report. It does not allocate sites for development, but it provides information on land that might be available in future.

Find out more about how to submit or amend a site, and see the latest annual report.

We have also published the supporting documents listed below to provide more detail on a number of topics.

Topic papers

We have produced a number of Topic Papers to set out how the review of the Local Plan has been developed. We will refresh and update them at each stage of the review process to ensure the latest information/position is available. 

Topic Papers provide background information but they do not contain any policies, proposals or site allocations. They will form part of the Local Plan evidence base which we will submit alongside the Local Plan for independent examination.

The topic papers are on:

Other documents

We have a specially designed consultation portal for Local Plan and other planning policy consultations.

If you register, you can:

  • read and save consultation documents
  • make your comments online
  • receive alerts on future consultations

You can find out more about how to use the consultation portal.

We use the Local Development Scheme (LDS) to manage the plan-making process. It sets out our timetable for preparing the documents and for consulting on the Local Plan review.

We first adopted an LDS in 2006 and we have reviewed it regularly as we have made progress on producing our Local Plan.

This LDS is the eighth review. You can download the Chelmsford Local Development Scheme 2021-2025.

You can also download the seventh review of the LDS, which we published in April 2018. You can view the changes we have made since April 2018 in Appendix 1 of the 2021-2025 LDS document.

We are committed to working with other councils and key organisations on planning issues that cross council boundaries.

The organisations we regularly work with include Essex County Council, National Highways, environmental organisations and education providers.

We have to ensure that we properly co-ordinate strategic issues such as:

  • land for new homes and jobs
  • infrastructure
  • providing schools
  • mitigating climate change

We have adopted a Duty to Co-operate Strategy, which sets out who we will co-operate with and when, plus how we will do it.

We consulted on the draft Strategy in late 2021, and the council’s Cabinet approved it on 25 January 2022.

You can download the:

You can report issues with the website using this form, which will go directly to the Web Team. This team will be unable to deal with your enquiry if it is not related to the website.

 

Data protection declaration: We are a Data Controller for the purposes of data protection legislation. We hold and process all personal information in accordance with data protection legislation. For more information, you can read our privacy policy and privacy notices.

Last updated: 05 October 2022