Chelmsford City Council

Essex County Council elections

About Essex County Councillors

Essex County Council elections take place every four years, to allow you to have a say in who represents you.

County Council Councillors represent you and make important decisions about things that affect you, including:

  • highways
  • education
  • children’s services
  • adult social care
  • libraries

You can find out more about Essex County Councillors and what they do.


About the ECC election

The ballot paper for this election will be white and you can only vote for one candidate.

There are nine electoral divisions in Chelmsford, each of which has one elected representative. They are: 

  • Broomfield and Writtle
  • Chelmer
  • Chelmsford Central
  • Chelmsford North
  • Chelmsford West
  • Great Baddow
  • South Woodham Ferrers
  • Springfield
  • Stock

Your poll card will tell you which division you are covered by. You can also look up your division on the ECC website.

We are not permitted to publish any further information about the candidates. To find out more about them, you can look out for their campaigns in your local community and social media.

Broomfield and Writtle

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Lucy Jane Barrett, Labour Party
  • Nick Caddick, Green Party Candidate
  • Nikki Perry, Liberal Democrat
  • Mike Steel, The Conservative Party Candidate


The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Ben Harvey, Green Party Candidate
  • David Howell, Labour Party
  • Rose Moore, Liberal Democrat
  • John Andrew Spence, The Conservative Party Candidate

Chelmsford Central

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Marie Clare Goldman, Liberal Democrat
  • Edward Massey, Labour Party
  • Seena Shah, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Claire Angela Young, Green Party Candidate

Chelmsford North

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Jessica Peacock, Labour Party 
  • Stephen John Robinson, Liberal Democrat 
  • Mark Taylor, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Angela Joan Thomson, Green Party Candidate

Chelmsford West

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Ronnie Bartlett, Green Party Candidate
  • Jude Deakin, Liberal Democrat
  • Pete Dixon, Labour Party
  • Ben McNally, The Conservative Party Candidate

Great Baddow

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Alex Heard, Green Party Candidate
  • Richard Joseph John Hyland, Independent Network
  • Anthony John McQuiggan, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Janbee Shaik Mopidevi, Labour Party
  • Jesse Clifford Pryke, UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Smita Rajesh, Liberal Democrat

South Woodham Ferrers

The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Ian Anthony Donald Gale, Liberal Democrat
  • Emmanuel Arnold Kemball, Labour Party
  • Bob Massey, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • David Rey, Green Party Candidate
  • Jill Winn, South Woodham Ferrers Council Taxpayers Association


The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Leah Marie Butler-Smith, The Democratic Network
  • Russell Kennedy, Labour and Co-operative Party
  • James Robert Lumbard, Green Party Candidate
  • Mike Mackrory, Liberal Democrat
  • James Alexander John Tyrrell, The Conservative Party Candidate


The candidates standing in this election are:

  • Paul Hayden Clark, Independent Network
  • Ian Spencer Grundy, The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Jake Havard, Labour Party
  • Brian Littlechild, Green Party Candidate
  • Tom Willis, Liberal Democrat

Mandatory field

Is there something wrong with this page
Last updated: 27 April 2021

Go to: