Chelmsford City Council

Community Governance Review (CGR)

We are currently reviewing community governance across the Chelmsford City Council area.

The initial consultation period closed on 18 March 2021, and we are now reviewing the comments we received and developing our draft recommendations.

After Full Council has approved them, we will consult further on the draft recommendations after 21 July 2021.


Timetable

The process of carrying out a Community Governance Review is set out in law and involves two rounds of consultation.


Stage 1

18 January to 18 March 2021

We invite initial submissions from parish councils and the public, as well as other local stakeholders, such as residents and business groups.


Stage 2

19 March to 21 July 2021

We publish the feedback. Governance Committee considers the feedback and produces draft recommendations for Full Council.


Stage 3

21 July 2021 to September 2021

If Full Council approve, we publish draft recommendations and consult on them.


Stage 4

September to 7 December 2021

Governance Committee considers the results of the consultation and produces final recommendations for Full Council.


Final recommendations

8 December 2021

Full Council makes final decision on the review.


After the recommendations

Reorganisation Order made for any recommendations agreed by Full Council. The agreed changes come into effect on 1 April 2023 in time for Parish Council elections in May 2023.

More information

If you have any comments or queries, you can contact the Electoral Services Team.

Mandatory field

Is there something wrong with this page
Last updated: 18 March 2021

Go to: