An historic flag was presented to Essex Regiment Museum in Oaklands Park in August.
The flag was first raised when the Essex Regiment amalgamated with the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Regiment to form the 3rd East Anglian Regiment on 2 June 1958 in Dortmund, Germany.
The flag has a fascinating history, travelling with the 1st Battalion of the new Regiment to Warley Barracks in Essex, then to Malaya in 1959 where it ventured up one of the highest peaks in Perak with Support Company. From Malaya it went briefly to Shoeburyness then on to Northern Ireland. Its final posting was Berlin, here it remained in service until the 3rd East Anglian Regiment was merged with the other East Anglian county regiments to form the Royal Anglian Regiment in 1964. Regimental Sergeant Major Roy Jenns collected the flag when it was lowered for the last time.
In 2009 the 1/3rd East Anglian Regiment Malaya Veterans Group (MVG) was formed, consisting of veterans of the regiment who served in Malaya on the two year tour of duty. As a founder member of this Group, Richard Faulkner acquired the flag which was being stored at Duxford. The Group agreed to donate the flag to the Essex Regiment Museum in Chelmsford.
Richard Faulkner said "the Malaya Veterans Group is proud of it's tour of duty nearly 60 years ago, and are pleased that the flag, which played an important part at the end of the Essex Regiment's life, will have such a distinguished new and permanent home."
Nick Wickenden, Museums Manager, added "The Essex Regiment Museum is delighted to accept this historic flag. It is important to preserve such artefacts to be able to tell the story of the regiments in the east of England in future years."